Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
Basic Savings Bank Deposit (BSBD) / PMJDY account only.
Checked 2026-08-09
Bank Charge Guide
Review source-backed cheque-book and cheque-return charges without guessing unsupported conditions.
Charged wrongfully for cheque charges?
RBI Circular on Dishonour of Cheques & NACH Grievance Framework: Banks may charge for technical returns or insufficient funds, but charges must not be repeated multiple times for the same transaction failure within a short window, and technical bank faults must be refunded immediately.
Amounts, trigger criteria, GST treatment, and official source links for each bank account.
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
Basic Savings Bank Deposit (BSBD) / PMJDY account only.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
First annual 25-leaf chequebook only; applies to Easy Access Savings, Easy Access Salary, Woman's Savings, Future Stars, Insurance Agents Savings, Krishi Savings and Sahaj Savings accounts. The source does not state the post-free-limit price for these families in this row, so none is invented.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
Prime Salary Account and Prime Plus Savings Account only.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹50.00
When this charge applies
Prime Savings, Power Salute Senior Privilege Priority Savings, Priority Savings and Priority Salary Savings. The source does not define the relevant free limit in this row.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹50.00
When this charge applies
Applies to Special Accounts, Smart Privilege, Senior Citizen Savings, Salary Power Plus, Inaam Personal Bank and Gold Loan Savings. The source says 'beyond the free limit' but does not define that free limit in the same row, so it is not invented here.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
Wealth Salary, Wealth Savings, Burgundy Savings, Burgundy Salary, Pension Savings and Trust Savings accounts.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹100.00
When this charge applies
Youth Account only.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
First 50-leaf cheque book included; subsequent leaves Rs5 each (₹5.00 per item after 50 free)
When this charge applies
Current/CC/OD accounts. Source defines first cheque book as 50 leaves; subsequent cheque book Rs5 per leaf.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
30 cheque leaves free per financial year, then Rs4 per cheque leaf (₹4.00 per item after 30 free)
When this charge applies
Savings Bank account at Metro/Urban branches.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
Rs2.50 per cheque leaf as published (₹2.50 per item after 0 free)
When this charge applies
Savings Bank customers of Rural/Semi-Urban branches, Senior Citizen and Pensioners at any branch, using the current source wording. The source does not state a free-leaf allowance in this sub-row, so none is invented.
Checked 2026-08-09
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
BOI Elite Salary Account only; official product table states Free Cheque Book Unlimited.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
Below Rs 1,000: ₹200.00 · Rs 1,000 to below Rs 10 lakh: ₹300.00 · Rs 10 lakh to below Rs 50 lakh: ₹500.00 · Rs 50 lakh to below Rs 1 crore: ₹1,000.00 · Rs 1 crore and above: ₹2,000.00
When this charge applies
Canara Bank SB/CA/OD/OCC accounts; a cheque or instrument returned, inward or outward. The page states GST is not applicable to this charge. No charge is levied where the instrument is returned for technical reasons or where the customer is not at fault.
Possible waiver or exception
No charge where the instrument is returned for technical reasons or where the customer is not at fault.
Checked 2026-09-05
Branch
₹5.00
When this charge applies
Canara Bank Current, Overdraft and OCC accounts. The page states a per-leaf charge and no free allowance for these accounts, so none is inferred. GST is additional.
Possible waiver or exception
Free for senior citizens, staff and ex-staff.
Checked 2026-09-05
Branch
First 25 cheque leaves free in a calendar year; thereafter Rs4 per cheque leaf + GST (₹4.00 per cheque_leaf after 25 free)
When this charge applies
Canara Savings Bank Account cheque-book facility; first 25 leaves free per calendar year, then Rs4 per leaf plus GST.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
DCB BSBDA only; limited to the explicitly stated free cheque book of 25 leaves per year. No beyond-allowance fee is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
Dhanlaxmi Smart Salary Savings Account only; limited to the explicit free 20-leaf annual entitlement. No beyond-allowance fee is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
General
Savings Bank — Rural: ₹2.50 · Savings Bank — Senior Citizens: ₹2.50 · Savings Bank — Other: ₹3.00 · Current / OD / CC: ₹3.00 · Fed-Selfi: ₹5.00
When this charge applies
Federal Bank liability products; charge per cheque leaf issued beyond the account's free limit, except Fed-Selfi, for which the schedule states there is no free limit and the charge applies from the first leaf. The free-limit counts themselves are not stated in this record. GST is additional.
Checked 2026-09-05 · Effective 2026-04-01
General
First Cheque Book (25 leaves) per financial year: ₹0.00 · Additional Cheque Book (25 leaves): ₹100.00
When this charge applies
HDFC Bank Regular Savings Account.
Checked 2026-08-25 · Effective 2026-01-01
Cheque
Outward financial — non-rural: ₹200.00 · Outward financial — rural: ₹175.00 · Inward financial — non-rural: ₹500.00 · Inward financial — rural: ₹475.00 · Inward non-financial except signature verification — non-rural: ₹50.00 · Inward non-financial except signature verification — rural: ₹40.00
When this charge applies
Legacy Regular Savings current schedule.
Checked 2026-08-09 · Effective 2026-06-17
Cheque
Outward — financial reason: ₹200.00 · Inward — financial reason: ₹500.00 · Inward — non-financial reason except signature verification: ₹50.00
When this charge applies
New/migrated Savings mainstream rates only. Rural-specific values are deliberately excluded from this VERIFIED rule pending resolution of a discrepancy between the current PDF visual rendering and text layer.
Checked 2026-08-09 · Effective 2026-06-17
General
First Cheque Book (20 leaves) per year: ₹0.00 · Additional Cheque Book (20 leaves): ₹50.00
When this charge applies
ICICI Bank Regular Savings Account.
Checked 2026-08-25 · Effective 2025-08-01
General
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
IDFC FIRST Bank Savings Account variants covered by the current zero-fee banking promise; AMB non-maintenance charges remain separately applicable.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
Up to Rs 1 lakh: ₹250.00 · Above Rs 1 lakh to Rs 1 crore: ₹500.00 · Above Rs 1 crore: ₹750.00
When this charge applies
Indian Bank accounts; a cheque received for payment that is returned. Banded by the amount of the cheque. GST is additional.
Checked 2026-09-05
Branch
₹5.00
When this charge applies
Indian Bank Current, Cash Credit and Overdraft accounts. The schedule states a per-leaf charge and no free allowance for these accounts, so none is inferred. GST is additional.
Checked 2026-09-05
Branch
Twenty cheque leaves free per calendar year; Rs 4 per leaf thereafter (₹4.00 per cheque leaf after 20 free)
When this charge applies
Indian Bank Savings Bank accounts. Twenty leaves are free in a calendar year and further leaves are charged per leaf. GST is additional.
Checked 2026-09-05
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
J&K Bank BSBDA only; this zero-fee rule is limited to the minimum 25 cheque leaves per year. The page says beyond-allowance service may be charged under the extant schedule, but no amount is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
25 cheque leaves free per annum, thereafter Rs10 per leaf (₹10.00 per cheque_leaf after 25 free)
When this charge applies
Karur Vysya Bank Regular Savings Account (155 product) only. Senior Citizen product has a different ₹3-per-leaf treatment and is not flattened into this rule.
Checked 2026-08-15 · Effective 2026-03-09
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
PNB BSBDA only; limited to the explicit minimum 25 free cheque leaves per year. No beyond-allowance amount is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
RBL Bank Basic Savings Account only. The official page states two cheque books per year (40 leaves) are free; no beyond-allowance fee is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
SBI BSBDA Branch Channel only; limited to the explicit 25-leaf annual free cheque-book entitlement. No beyond-allowance amount is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
₹0 (Free)
When this charge applies
TMB Santhosh Savings Bank Account only. The source states a free personalized cheque book of 20 leaves per financial year; no beyond-allowance fee is inferred.
Checked 2026-08-15
Branch
₹4.24
When this charge applies
UCO Bank savings, cash credit and overdraft accounts; charge per cheque leaf issued. No free-leaf allowance is stored: UCO's savings-account-rules page and this schedule state different free counts, so the allowance is unresolved and is not published either way. Charges are exclusive of GST.
Checked 2026-09-05 · Effective 2023-07-15
Branch
Up to Rs 1 lakh: ₹250.00 · Above Rs 1 lakh up to Rs 10 lakh: ₹500.00
When this charge applies
UCO Bank accounts; a cheque received for payment that is returned unpaid. Only the two bands legible in the source document are stored; the band above Rs 10 lakh was not legible and no figure is claimed for it. Charges are exclusive of GST.
Checked 2026-09-05 · Effective 2023-07-15
Branch
Cheque-return charges are restricted to 25% of the normal charges
When this charge applies
UCO Bank Basic Savings Bank accounts. The schedule restricts cheque-return charges in these accounts to 25% of the normal charges rather than stating rupee figures, so the restriction is published in the schedule's own words and no derived amount is stored. Charges are exclusive of GST.
Checked 2026-09-05 · Effective 2023-07-15
Every figure on this page is retrieved directly from official Schedule of Charges documents and RBI circulars. No bank can pay to alter, suppress, or enhance fee ratings on SharpScroll.
Charges for cheque charges depend on the bank, account variant, channel (online vs branch), and transaction amount tier. In addition, 18% GST is added unless an official zero-rate policy applies.
Banks may charge for technical returns or insufficient funds, but charges must not be repeated multiple times for the same transaction failure within a short window, and technical bank faults must be refunded immediately. Ground for reversal: The bounce occurred due to bank server/technical timeout despite adequate balance.; Wrongful deduction: NACH was presented after cancellation/mandate revocation request.; Signature mismatch due to bank's outdated digitized specimen.; Duplicate penalty debited for single presentation failure..
You can often reduce cheque charges by transacting online rather than at a branch, keeping the balance your account tier requires, or asking your bank which debit card variants carry no annual charge. Compare published charges before switching accounts.